El contenido de esta página requiere una versión más reciente de Adobe Flash Player.

Obtener Adobe Flash Player

El contenido de esta página requiere una versión más reciente de Adobe Flash Player.

Obtener Adobe Flash Player


  About Us
  Price
  Private/Corporate Yoga
  Photo Gallery
  Resources/Links
  Class Downloads
  Essays
  Classes Sign In
  Workshops Sign In
  FAQ
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust

Reviews by Our Students

Updated 2015

2-20-2015 There is one thing that helps me keep my anxiety in control and helps me maintain a happy state of mind; Yoga. I recently bought this groupon for a yoga school not too far away from me; Shiv Shanti Yoga School in Rutherford, NJ. And believe me, I have been to a few yoga classes and tried quiet some many of them, even the ones that have 4 star ratings and more but this little place struck a chord within me right from day 1. Because I didn’t want to jump to any conclusions I decided to wait for some time before writing about it just so I could allow some time to go by and see if my opinion changes. But here I am, after 3 years of first trying this place out I am still so convinced that this place is far superior in its practices and teaching than any other place I have been to in the last 5 years. No, I haven’t been a member of theirs in a long time now but each time I try to take a yoga class in my fitness center, I go back to how much I loved and enjoyed Yoga at this Centre. Yoga is about patience. It is about completing a pose, holding it and breathing in it so that your body can recognize this stretch, movement and form to adapt to it. Not quite like the many other classes I have attended where it is all about getting into the pose and then before u can allow your body to absorb it, it is time to get on to the next. I liked the integration of breathing and stretching, the alignment and the flow that was taught at this school. Every instructor is knowledgeable. They don’t rush you. They correct you. Time and again and allow you time to get into the flow. Their meditation classes are unmissable and are conducted by Felise (Shivadasi) Berman; who is also the founder of this school and has lived in an ashram in India for a few years before heading back here and starting with this Centre. The music played during each class is unique to its instructor and the music enables you to perform your best. It helps you push the limit and go beyond to test yourself, your patience and your body; but being gentle at the same time. They start and end their classes with a note of thanks and gratitude. They ask you to dedicate your workout to an intention in your heart, they tell you to worship your body and give it thanks. This is not just any yoga class. This is a place where you learn about yourself, spiritually as well as physically. They help you recognize your limitations and soothe your soul. These classes help bring your mind, body and soul in connection with each other; which in my opinion is true yoga practice. The light within me bows to the light in you. Namaste.– S.

1/18/2015 It's been almost a year since I've been attending Shiva Shanti Yoga School and it has been my spiritual home. After an intense family tragedy (the death of my sister) and struggling with this for a year, i decided to honor her through something that has always felt grounding and connected to my spirit, but was something i had strayed from for a few years.  I had studied various styles of yoga since 1995 including Iyengar, Hatha, Istha, a little Jivamukti and Birkram. But teachers come and go and locations change. When I started at Shiva Shanti it had been 3 years since my last yoga class. I walked into the room and felt at home. The environment is warm, sacred, welcoming. Felise was teaching and i liked her energy. The topic of the month was Devotion and i thought i would cry as we started Surya Namaskar (sun salutation). After that she taught a challenging class, but was supportive of beginner students offering advice about modifications and using props (which i loved about the Iyengar style). That was a very good day for me and after that I took classes with different teachers exploring the differences and gifts each had to offer. 

I recommend this school to anyone who wants to feel the physical aspect of yoga as well as learn the philosophy. Breath work and meditation are also part of the practice here. The students are very respectful here and unlike other studios i have studied in where you feel judged, i have never felt this at Shiva Shanti. This is a simple yet sacred space with an organic vibe. I have been practicing yoga for 30 years and with many highly respected teachers. In my experience Felise is my clear favorite, for several reasons. Malcolm Gladwell in his best-selling book "Outliers: the story of Success," says the key to success in any field is to practice a task 10,000 times. Felise has "lived" yoga for every minute of her adult life, and her 10,000 hours of practice shows in the smoothness with which she blends her asanas, and the wholeness of her sessions, from opening one's self at the beginning, through a challenging and sometimes strenuous middle, and finally a peaceful conclusion. The end experience is you feel invigorated and centered in mind and body.

Felise has a beautiful and soothing voice that enhances and complements the message of love and peace she generously shares with us from a true heart of compassion. Felise's classes are world class in every way, an opinion shared by her many happy students who come back to her for more, year after year. To complete the entire picture, Shiva Shanti Yoga School perfectly reflects the way Felise practices, teaches, and lives her life. Shelia R. 2013

I met Felise many years ago teaching at Bally's of Englewood Cliffs. She was basically my first connection to Yoga in a more experimental than rational way; her class was always energetic and well directed, filled with profound messages between poses and in the midst of that sweaty crowd I started to find that alignment within me and began subtlety to recognize myself, to really understand Yoga. For this I thanked Felise's dedication as a teacher, generosity transmitting the knowledge, and openness with her own practice. Carolina G. Englewood Cliffs, NJ 9/3/2013

A year ago I had the opportunity to join Shiva Shanti, Felise's Yoga studio and at not surprise to me the classes in the studio contained the same qualities, if not better carried by very well chosen instructors. Even though my practice has been more behind the scenes, due to time constrains, I will always remember how this journey began.  P.S I love Buddha, I think is a great component to the class... Diversity :)

Shiva Shanti Yoga in Rutherford, NJ is a top notch yoga studio with a complete class schedule that runs seven days a week, and a talented group of motivated teachers that are genuinely caring and highly skilled in Vinyasa flow and the full range of yoga asanas.

The studio has a special energy that nurtures the individual student and allows one to expand their practice at their own pace.  The studio is always clean and inviting, and its simple setting -- with hardwood floors, plants, and a zen decor -- creates a sacred space that feels peaceful and loving.  Theresa C. Lyndhurst, NJ 9/3/2013

Felise (Shiva Dasi) Berman, founder of Shiva Shanti Yoga, brings a wealth of yoga philosophy knowledge and teaching experience to the studio's full curriculum. She is dedicated to sharing her extensive yoga background with her students and is committed to the continued professional development of her extraordinary faculty members.  Felise is bright, beautiful, and a deeply caring leader. She is an inspiration to all yogis, both young and old, and at every technical level, from the most advanced yoga practitioner to the complete beginner.

I've been a student at Shiva Shanti Yoga since it's inception, taking on average three classes per week.  It's been such a fulfilling experience that I recently completed the Shiva Shanti 200-hour teacher training program.  I love this studio and continue to grow in mind, body and spirit from all that Shiva Shanti has to offer. Thank you Shiva Dasi.

Shiva Shanti Yoga studio has become my second home, Shivadasi(Felise)a good friend and teacher. My practice has taken me through many changes and each teacher a stepping stone in the development of my practice eight years in the making (spiritually, physically mentally and emotionally). I started my practice due to scoliosis surgery that I had at the age of thirteen to help my mobility and flexibility I'm 46 now, if I knew then what I know now!!!Fast forward to three family member deaths one in 2009, 2010 and 2011 and eight months after the passing of my Mom I lost my job after eleven year's. Felise my teacher became my friend to lend a shoulder, and gave me a place to occupy my time( the studio) by registering classes and being able to continue my practice. If there was ever a time that I needed something or place in life it was now, I don't know how else I would have gotten through all that I did without Felise and her yoga studio.
I was also able to see fellow students grow in to yoga instructors and got to practice yoga with a little dog by the name of Buddha.
So I want to say THANK YOU Felise and to ALL of your yoga teachers both past and present for helping me through this journey of mine called life. Namaste Lori O. Lyndhurst, NJ 9/3/2013

I love Shiva Shanti Yoga School! At Shiva Shanti I've found a place not only to practice yoga asana but to learn about the many different paths and practices of yoga. The owner Felise is truly a great and giving person.  She has really created a great community at Shiva Shanti with knowledgeable and dedicated teachers. This is a great studio and I would recommend it to anyone!   9/3/2013

I like this cute yoga studio. It is very cozy and the energy is great. This is not your average commercialized yoga class. Here you can learn about the philosophy of yoga, learn how gurus view the world and how they practice yoga. Guests come from all over the world to share their knowledge with anyone who would be interested in becoming part of this community. Also, there are musicians who would travel long distances to come and share their music. If you would like to become a yoga teacher yourself, you are able to take the course at the studio. I know when I see something special, and this is it.  Thank you Felise:) - She is the owner of the yoga studio. Leslie G. Caldwell, NJ 9/2/2013

I had always enjoyed yoga for a very long time, but when I met Felise Berman about 10years ago (the owner of Shiva Shanti) she made me LOVE yoga.  Of all the classes and instructors I've had, Felise was and is the BEST.  She lives and breathes her practice, and her passion is contagious.  My best years of yoga practice have been with her.  Her class and amazing instruction took me to places in my yoga practice, which I could never have achieved without her.  She connects not only to your physical body, but to your mind and soul too.  Besides being a great instructor, she is a caring and compassionate human being (with people and animals alike).  Her studio is pleasant and peaceful and and creates an uplifting yet calming atmosphere to practice along with a talented staff of instructors. The studio offers a wide array of classes and levels to choose from, as well as frequently offered special classes, instructors and seminars. If you are looking for a quality yoga studio with a caring staff, Shiva Shanti is the place to be...I highly recommend it.

I love Shiva Shanti Yoga School! At Shiva Shanti I've found a place not only to practice yoga asana but to learn about the many different paths and practices of yoga. The owner Felise is truly a great and giving person.  She has really created a great community at Shiva Shanti with knowledgeable and dedicated teachers. This is a great studio and I would recommend it to anyone! Maplewood, NJ 9/3/2013

I like this cute yoga studio. It is very cozy and the energy is great. This is not your average commercialized yoga class. Here you can learn about the philosophy of yoga, learn how gurus view the world and how they practice yoga. Guests come from all over the world to share their knowledge with anyone who would be interested in becoming part of this community. Also, there are musicians who would travel long distances to come and share their music. If you would like to become a yoga teacher yourself, you are able to take the course at the studio. I know when I see something special, and this is it.  Thank you Felise:) - She is the owner of the yoga studio. Gabriella Z. Saddle Brook, NJ 9/3/2013

I had always enjoyed yoga for a very long time, but when I met Felise Berman about 10years ago (the owner of Shiva Shanti) she made me LOVE yoga.  Of all the classes and instructors I've had, Felise was and is the BEST.  She lives and breathes her practice, and her passion is contagious.  My best years of yoga practice have been with her.  Her class and amazing instruction took me to places in my yoga practice, which I could never have achieved without her.  She connects not only to your physical body, but to your mind and soul too.  Besides being a great instructor, she is a caring and compassionate human being (with people and animals alike).  Her studio is pleasant and peaceful and creates an uplifting yet calming atmosphere to practice along with a talented staff of instructors.  The studio offers a wide array of classes and levels to choose from, as well as frequently offered special classes, instructors and seminars.  If you are looking for a quality yoga studio with a caring staff, Shiva Shanti is the place to be...I highly recommend it. Tuesday, September 03, 2013

I met Felise Berman while going to Ballys gym.  There was a class of hundreds there, I wish I was able to be in a smaller atmosphere like her business is, yet still she took the time to always give me attention.  I studied with her for about a year and loved her style and musical choices.    Anyone who gets her is in good hands! Joey N. Fort Lauderdale, FL 9/2/2013

I have been practicing yoga at Shiva Shanti for a little over a year now, and couldn't be happier! The teachers are very inspirational and knowledgeable. They are accommodating and modify according to your level. The studio has a calming, zen vibe to it. You walk in and feel relaxed and at peace. There are a variety of classes to take. Any class you decide on will be taught by a teacher who is more than willing to modify and adjust accordingly.  Shivadasi is wonderful. She is very welcoming and full of knowledge. She has a lot of patience and will work with you to help start or advance your yoga practice. Whether you are an advanced yogi or a beginning practitioner, this studio welcomes all. No matter what is going on in my day or life, once I'm on my mat at Shiva Shanti, all is ok :) Kristy S. Hasbrouck Heights, NJ 9/2/2013-

I have watched Felise Berman create her vision for Shiva Shanti Yoga School. She is kind considerate, hardworking and loves every person she serves at her school. Her tireless efforts to train teachers and invest in the local community is unwavering. She is committed to her growth, the growth of the studio and most importantly every student she meets. I think you must meet her before you read the reviews posted here. She is a beautiful person. Mona K.  Beach Haven, NJ 9/2/2013

I have known Felise Berman now for about 7 years and she has been my Yoga teacher for that period of time. Felise is such a passionate, caring individual and a great teacher. The Sessions were always a challenge and I felt great afterwards. She has gone past the norm for a yoga teacher and has studied abroad for a while also. She is always thinking of creative ways to teach and introducing special guests to her students. I wish Felise the best of luck in the future and much success in her passion and drive for what she has excelled at. I would highly recommend taking a class and experience the peace and relaxation that Ken M. Cresskill, NJ. 08/19/2013

I love Shiva Shanti Yoga School!!....and believe me I never dreamed I would ever have become a yoga student.....those who don't know about it should give it a try...once you do you will be hooked!! Marilyn M. Rutherford, NJ


And for those who only viewed yoga as doing bends that look hard to do need to know about the breath and movement connection. I never knew this until I took my first class. Yoga Nidra...Restorative Yoga my FAVORITE...and all your beginner levels ....along with owner/teacher Felice B.'s giving HEART and experienced instructors whose wish is to include all people no matter age, weight or fitness level....yep that means me...58 years old and starting yoga for the first time in her life...and loving every second of it! (And the prices are great too) ;)

I signed up with a groupon for an unlimited month when i was visiting my boyfriend nearby. i went 4-5 times a week for 3 weeks. The setting is beautiful it is the upper floor of an old brownstone; high ceilings and hardwood floors.

The instructors were all consistently great. I would highly recommend this studio. Tierney V. Gypsum, CO 8/5/2013

Amazing experience! S. P. New York, NY 8/5/2013

Groupon

·        I like the variety and number of classes offered 7 days a week. August 05, 2013 

·        I love the school and instructors are great! May 05, 2013 

·        I love how hands on all the instructors are. They really want everyone to enjoy the class.

·        May 05, 2013 Thank you all for teaching us not just yoga moves but a deeper understanding

·        April 24, 2013 If you are looking to practice yoga, this is the place to go. It is nothing like practicing yoga in a gym setting. It is so peaceful and all of the instructors are extremely helpful. It truly is an amazing facility.

·        March 21, 2013 Classes great instructors good overall great yoga classes

·        March 21, 2013 would recommend Shiva Shanti Yoga School for the "yogi-people" as well as for beginners.

·        February 27, 2013 excellent school with compassionate teachers!

Living Social

"Very kind people. Would love to go back. "- Bergen County - 10/16/2013 













 
Facebook You Tube My Space Twitter
Study the Sacred Art, Science and Philosophy of Yoga
165 Park Ave Rutherford, NJ 07070
201.531.9642 (YOGA)

web: http://www.shivashantiyoga.com
email: info@shivashantiyoga.com
© 2010 Shiva Shanti Yoga School All Rights Reserved